Life in the Eilers Superfund Site

As I recently stated, I am suspending the part of this site that deals with good memories and replacing it with sad, scary truth.  This is the first part of my final crusade.  I’ve fought hard over something as stupid as what my neighborhood was called.  Imagine how hard I’ll fight for a matter of life and death.  Dramatic, you say?  Hang on.  It’s a horror movie.

 

If you are not aware of the Eilers Superfund Site, I’ll give you a bit of background.  The area is on the southeast side of Pueblo, near the steel mill.  It includes parts of Bessemer, a bit of the Grove, and the neighborhood formerly known as Bojon Town, now known as Eilers Heights.  In the late 1800’s, it was the site of the Colorado Smelter, a large smelter used to process silver.  When the silver industry slowed down, the smelter closed, and the owners sold the land as home sites to individual homeowners.  The area was a very nice area, and back then, no one really thought about the dangers of building a home on a toxic waste dump.  And don’t fool yourself.  This place is a toxic waste dump.  The EPA has admitted it to the point that they are doing cleanups on this area that they haven’t done at any other Superfund site.  They are scaring the crap out of the residents about the levels of lead and arsenic levels, but if you know the government, they don’t do extraordinary things unless something extraordinary is going on.  There’s something that they’re not telling us, and given their record of handling this problem, anything is possible.

 

They are telling the residents that children can be harmed from exposure to this problem, and now something needs to be done immediately.  Well, excuse my Slovenian, but where the hell were you sorry son of a bitches when this neighborhood was full of Slovenian kids?  Kids like me.  Kids that have so many health problems that they pray every morning for it to get better or just let it end.  It may sound like I’m kind of pissed lately.  It’s probably because I’m pissed.  I can’t make it through 3 hours of light activity without ending up unconscious for 3 hours after I’m done.  I’m getting veins in my heart frozen to keep it from screwing up.  I’m having afib and seizures at the same time.  I’ve got a neuromuscular disease and glaucoma, and on top of that, I’m not that good looking.  I have a right to get pissed.  And I’m better off than a lot of people I know.  My Grandma Medved grew up in the middle of this chemical cesspool, and they started hacking cancerous parts off of her when I was 10 years old, and they didn’t stop until she died.  Both of my grandfathers had cancer.  Not too many in that neighborhood died of old age.  Some ugly crap killed them first.  And the EPA told us all to go to hell, because the real problem is the kids living there now.  Well, I’m the kid that used to live there and I want some justice.  For my grandma and grandpas.  For the neighbors that died of cancer.  The ones that died of crap that they didn’t have a name for.  For the old people still sick and trying to make it.  For my mom, who was a walking encyclopedia of shitty medical conditions.  This is just a start of the war for me.  It took me 4 times longer to write this than it would have 2 years ago.  But I will not stop and I will not shut up.  I’m sending letters to politicians, who just use this crap for a way to sucker in an extra vote or two.  I’m sending them to newspapers, magazines, TV stations, whoever will listen, and even those who won’t listen.  I’m about to become someone’s pain in the ass.

 

I’m going to ask for some help.  I’m starting to compile a database of everyone that lived in this area, worked in this area, or went to school in this area for at least 5 years, and any unusual medical conditions that they may have had.  If this is you, or a relative, or a deceased loved one, please help me.  I’m going to be working hard on this.  Whatever it takes.  I’m still going to use this site temporarily, until I can find another site that works better.  I will be posting more information in the near future.  Please email me if you’d like.  Thanks.

5 responses to this post.

  1. I think this was excellent, and I am praying for you. I think the whole thing was a sadness that was covered up from the beginning. You can not tell me the government didn’t know then what they know now. It is always very amusing to me that none of them lived anywhere near anything like this. I don’t really know what to say or where to go with it all. I know my friend Karen Mesojedic Clark who lived at 911 E. Arroyo is a colon cancer survivor. But her mother passed away in her 90’s and I am not certain what her dad passed away from. My father passed away from heart disease and my mother from old age basically. I know Grandma Kocman has some illnesses but not heart disease like her doctor told her. When she passed away, Harvey Phelps was the County Coroner and he said the one thing that kept her alive all those years was her strong heart. Grandpa Kocman did not passed away from any cancers. But it would be good to know how many people suffered and struggled with illnesses, particularly unusual ones. The Pechek family on Bohmen, I know Millie had some cancer. As a kid I remember people blaming the CF&I for the pollution and yet Pueblo has less than Colorado Springs who has more than Denver! I think knowing people who lived there with various medical conditions and diseases would be a good start. My husbands cousin who is five years younger than us worked in a coalmine and he was diagnosed with testicular cancer at age 27. He had a wife and two little girls. He survived, as it was caught early and today he is a picture of health. But the mining co. took full responsibility and he was nicely compensated and he is a still employed there today in a different position. I know my oldest sister passed away from a liver cancer caused by the factory setting she worked and breathed in. Many other women who worked there also passed away from rare cancers, many at very young ages. Our phamily lost a good friend, she was two weeks shy of her 18th birthday and died from a rare brain cancer. Her doctor told her family when she was diagnosed in 30 years of practicing medicine he had never seen such an aggressive cancer. Later an aunt passed away from the same cancer. They think perhaps it was the water in their village in Mexico where they had all lived. The one that will always haunt me as well is Agent Orange. Admiral Zumwalt ordered the spraying of it and his own son perished from complications from it. I did not mean to go off track but my point is the government knows and they like cover ups. Examples Three Mile Island, Erin Brockovich and Silkwood were all movies based on the truth and facts from real life. Look how the government ignored what happened to the water in Flint, Michigan. It is a sick fact of life. I am glad someone took some responsibility for our neighborhood. I hope they can clean it up and I pray for all who suffer from any medical conditions as a result of it. Tahnk you for writing this.

    Reply

  2. Posted by becky on June 18, 2016 at 10:19 am

    I have information about two families from that area. How can I contact you? I’m very sorry for all you’re going through.

    Reply

    • Thanks for reading, Becky! I’d love to get the information on the two families into the database. My email address is mbarnett56@yahoo. None of the details of any of the info will be kept confidential.

      Reply

  3. Posted by Marie Barnett on June 20, 2016 at 8:52 am

    I sent you an email to the last address I had at yahoo.com. Did you get it on the 16th? If not, I’ll resend. Love you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

