Back in Business

It’s been 6 weeks since I’ve written.  Many different things seemed to get in the way.  We were caught up in the sale of the house in Cripple Creek, which finally closed on Tuesday.  We were also making a bunch of trips to Cripple Creek for various reasons, and various little aspects of life seemed to be taking up a lot of time.  And then the worst happened.  My laptop crashed.  I admit that I usually spend too much time on the computer.  Old habits are hard to break.  I was an IT worker for almost 25 years.  My job was to be on a computer, and old habits are hard to break.  I don’t do much work on them now, except for writing and playing games, but I still spend too much time on one.  The hard drive went out on this laptop after about 2 years, which is good for me, since I never shut them off.  I also seem to drop them too often.  So, about 2 weeks ago I start seeing flaky little things that made me back up everything that I had stored on it.  I spent about 2 days running secret IT software to try to salvage it, but I finally pronounced it DOA about 10 days ago.  So, I’m doing my necessary internet stuff on a Galaxy S4 phone.  If I said that it was frustrating, I’d be lying.  It’s beyond frustrating, and I’m amazed that I haven’t smashed that little thing into pieces yet.  I finally got off of my butt and turned on a server that we built for Velma’s photography business.  We’ve got about 3 grand into this thing, and it’s the most backed up PC on the planet.  We have every picture that Velma ever took with all of her digital cameras, plus hundreds of them that were scanned in from original photos.  And I’ve got 3 full backups of every picture. I think it’s up to about 50 CDs now.  So, I’m using a state of the art computer for a 50 dollar word processor.  Maybe I’ll look into fixing the laptop, but after doing that crap for 25 years, I realize how much I hated it.  But now I lost my excuse for not writing, so I thought I’d better get busy.

I’m starting another blog. It’s going to be about Pueblo,  It will be similar to this one, with a lot of memories and stories, but it’s going to be a bit more political.  This city has grown on me, and I see a lot of things that I like, and a lot of things I don’t like.  I like writing about things that I like.  I love writing about things that I don’t like.  It’s not going to be interesting to everyone, but again, I have gotten to the point that I only look to make one person happy when I write.  Me.  Think of it as therapy for someone with too much on their mind.

Welcome back to my Uncle Ray and Aunt Kathy!  It’s such a blessing to have them here.  I know it had to be a tough decision to leave California after a lifetime there, and I’m sure that they’ll be sorely missed by a lot of people.  But they’ll be cherished and loved here just as much.

I’ve been debating how to say this for a while, and I don’t think that there is a good way to say it, so I’m just going to blurt it out.  A big part of Bojon Town has become a shit hole.  There are boarded up houses and there are houses that would be better off being boarded up.  There are  yards that look like junk yards.  It’s embarrassing.  There are still a lot of beautiful places, where the owners and residents obviously take pride in their homes and yards, but unfortunately they are next to some trashy dump with garbage in the yard and broken windows.  My dad’s house is beautiful.  Painted, nice windows, nice lawn and flowers, and a toxic waste dump for a neighbor.  The guy next door had so much crap in his yard that it pushed over the 6 foot cedar fence that my dad put up.  He brought in a pile of old lumber and stacked it up next to the fence.  The lumber is full of termites.  What kind of person brings home lumber with termites?   Can you spell honyak?  Does anyone know what a honyak is?  Go to my dad’s house and look at that fatass piece of garbage that runs the dump next door.  I swear that if those houses on that block weren’t so close together, that yard would meet a horrible accident with a book of matches.  I learned how to make a really good timed delay firebomb when I was a 9 year old kid in Bojon Town.  Another story for someday.

But really, drive through the neighborhood if you haven’t been there before.  They busted a big pot grow operation on Bohmen.  They had gang members in a running gun fight up the 1200 block of Mahren a few weeks ago.  About 8 months ago, someone shot some girl off of the front porch of Lepik’s old house.  Look at the block on Mesa where Lemo Plutt and Mr. and Mrs. Rupar and the Drobnicks used to live.  They’re probably rolling over in their graves seeing what happened to the houses that they put so much love into.  The whole neighborhood of Bojon Town has this cancer through and through.  It’s not like that new neighborhood of Eilers Heights, that’s in the 1100 block of Eilers.  Those houses are still new enough to be in good shape, but I look at Stanley Zakrajsek’s old house and it looks like it could be the first to go in that neighborhood.  I want to see Bojon Town live forever, but at the rate it’s going down hill, it’s not going to last much longer, at least not the way we remember it.

I’m out for the day.  Out of gas.  In the last 9 days, we’ve driven to Cripple Creek and back 6 times.  Even my Jeep is tired.  But I will be back very soon…..on this subject.  It’s easy to bitch about what I’m seeing.  I need to try to see if I can understand it and perhaps do something to help out.  I just don’t know what to do yet.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jeanette litherland on August 16, 2015 at 9:43 pm

    So glad you are writing again, Mike! I always look forward to reading your posts. It is sad to see so many homes in the neighborhood looking so bad and rundown! A few bad apples move into a neighborhood and ruin it for everyone. Holy smoke, a gun fight on Mahren!! Hard to imagine that happening!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Stephanie Terry on August 16, 2015 at 10:44 pm

    I wish I could have seen you and Velma while you were on your journey back and forth to Cripple Creek and home. I know you won’t be back here anytime soon if you can help it. I will just have to keep reading to see what’s up. Glad you finally sold the house and can now really enjoy your time doing what you love! Miss you guys!

    Reply

    • We’re still coming up on weekends for a while. We usually head home early but we will try to stop up and see you guys soon. I don’t miss much about that place, but I do miss the awesome people like you that I met there.

      Reply

  3. Posted by Sam Cosimano on August 17, 2015 at 11:45 am

    Congratulations on selling the house, Mike, and congratulations on being back in Bojon town. Miss you and love you, cousin. Hope to see you soon.
    Sam

    Reply

  4. Hi cousin! I am so happy to see your you here but I am a little sad about this post. It is really sad to see the place we love being single handedly destroyed by people that have no regard for themselves much less anyone else. I wish you would have time to go to some of those meetings about the whole bowl Johntown project. I know people that go to those meetings and they said there is a lot of things you could get out of it maybe you could start asking some questions as to why they’re not coming on the other side of the Germantown. It’s so frustrating and so sad. Interesting because I was reading a piece on Facebook about a young Woman who spoke very highly of Pueblo and all it has to offer. She lives in Evergreen Colorado and takes her children to the state fair, the Riverwalk, all the different attractions including the city Park zoo. I am just dumbfounded that the city does nothing about it and why isn’t there any police Protection? It is such a sadness and reminds me of the Roselawn Cemetery. I spoke with the lady that is over 90 years young. She said she will not use her cemetery plot and be buried there because it is so disgusting what has happened to such a wide portion of the cemetery. If you look up the Board of Directors for Roselawn Cemetery none of those people have anything to do with the section where our loved ones were laid to rest. There are bullies everywhere and I believe there are many boys in the city of Pueblo holding back not only Bojon town but also the beloved grove. You know they say money walks and BS talks. I am just shocked that there is no his story cool society that is interested in any portion of bow Johntown or the grove . I repeat myself over and over and over again my grandmothers house in the Grove with steward the 1921 flood that should be worth something alone that they should go through the Grove and look at all the buildings and homes that survived the flood also the flood of 1965. I hate politics And I’m just going to be like my late father and say everyone is going to be judged by God one day whether you believe in him or not and all of your sins are going to be poured out in front of you and him privately. It is an absolute disgrace what has happened to our beloved child hood town and I worry about those relatives who still live there. I’ll just keep busy praying and praying harder. Keep writing and may God bless you❤️❤️

    Reply

    • Why auto correct hates me is beyond reasoning! All my thoughts were written down correctly and why it started changing BojonTown to German town is beyond my comprehension! Anything making no sense I will try to revise here: I just caught it changed BojonTown to Bowl argh…… The whole comment makes no sense. I am so angry! I will try to fix it here now:
      Hi cousin! I am so happy to see your you here but I am a little sad about this post. It is really sad to see the place we love being destroyed by people that have no regard for themselves much less anyone else. I wish you would have time to go to some of those meetings about the whole BoJontown project. I know people that go to those meetings and they said there is a lot of things you could get out of it, maybe you could start asking some questions as to why they’re not coming on the other side of BoJohntown where all this madness exists! . It’s so frustrating and so sad. Interesting too, because I was reading a piece on Facebook about a young Woman who spoke very highly of Pueblo and all it has to offer. She lives in Evergreen Colorado and takes her children to the state fair, the Riverwalk, all the different attractions including the city Park zoo. I am just dumbfounded that the city does nothing about it and why isn’t there any police Protection? It is such a sadness and reminds me of the Roselawn Cemetery. I spoke with the lady that is over 90 years young at FB. She said she will not use her cemetery plot and be buried there because it is so disgusting what has happened to such a wide portion of the cemetery. If you look up the Board of Directors for Roselawn Cemetery none of those people have anything to do with the section where our loved ones were laid to rest. There are bullies everywhere and I believe there are many bullies in the city of Pueblo holding back not only Bojon town but also the beloved grove. You know they say money walks and BS talks. I am just shocked that there is no historical society that is interested in any portion of Bojon town or the grove . I repeat myself over and over and over again my grandmothers house in the Grove survived the 1921 flood, that should be worth something alone that they should go through the Grove and look at all the buildings and homes that survived the flood . Also the flood of 1965. I hate politics And I’m just going to be like my late father and say everyone is going to be judged by God one day whether you believe in him or not and all of your sins are going to be poured out in front of you and him privately. It is an absolute disgrace what has happened to our beloved child hood town and I worry about those relatives who still live there. I’ll just keep busy praying and praying harder. Keep writing and may God bless you❤️❤️ My dad would say, you can run and hide from me but you can never hide from God. He is watching all of us all the time! Just ignore the first comment, it is so frustrating how this happens.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

