July 29. Another Awesome Day to Be a Bojon

I spent more time looking at maps and old pictures today.  My Dad had some cool old pictures, and one of them was my Aunt Liz, when she was probably in her 20’s, in a swimming suit.  And she was wound pretty tight!  But there was another lady in the picture that was much prettier, and I asked my Dad if he knew who she was.  Yeah.  He knew.  It was my Grandma Steffie!  Man, she was pretty!  Much prettier than her sister!  There was also a few pictures of my Mom and Dad on their wedding day.  I swear that in one of the pictures, my Dad looks exactly like Wally Cleaver when he was in the 10th grade.  No way that kid looked old enough to get married!

When we were about 8 or 9, my Grandma and Grandpa Medved took me and my sister Julie to the movies.  We went to the Chief Theater on Main Street and saw John Wayne in McLintock.  They bought us both a bag of candy at the concession stand.  Not just a candy bar, but one of the bags!  I had such a good time.  I saw my Grandma laugh a lot.  She was a funny lady.  My Grandpa was more reserved.  But on that day, he laughed his ass off.  When they had that big fight in the mud, he was laughing harder than any time I ever saw in my life!  To this day, if I’m flipping through the channels and that movie is on, I can’t help myself and end up watching it until it’s over.

I was doing more research on the T H Foley Lumber Co.   It’s official address was 1300 Elm. Street.  It burned to the ground in a fire in November of 1920, but it’s still listed in a Pueblo City Directory in 1923.  It may have been rebuilt, but I haven’t gotten to the bottom of everything yet.  It’s interesting to see the old maps.  Some of them go down to the level of detail where they show the outlines of the houses on the blocks.  It’s odd to see a blank spot on the map where a house is now.

Kids today need a special field with bumpers and cushions to keep them from getting hurt.  We played wherever there was an empty space.  The best football games ever had 3 people on a side and were played in a street with parked cars on both sides.  “Go down to the driveway and break left to the front bumper on the red Buick”.    Go and watch a baseball game at Runyon Field with 8 year old kids playing.  Each one of them shows up with a $50 bag, a $120 bat, a $75 glove, and a new pair of rubber cleats.  And 9 out of 10 of them don’t even know which end of the bat to hold.  When we were kids, we’d have 18 kids playing.  6 gloves, 1 bat with tape around the cracks, and a ball that had more tape than leather.  And we knew which end of the bat to hold.  Most of us, anyway.  We always knew the score, too.  None of this ‘We don’t keep score.  It’s bad for the self-esteem of the kids that don’t excel’.  Yeah, we get it.  We kept score.  The kids that didn’t excel eventually went on to do something that they enjoyed more.  We grew up and didn’t shoot a theater full of innocent people because we couldn’t catch a frigging fly ball and someone laughed at us.  I got into one fight in high school.  I got my ass handed to me.  I had a gun in my trunk.  I didn’t go and get it.  It was for hunting, and it was always there.  The thought of using it on a person just because he whipped my ass never crossed my mind.  I was too busy trying to figure out how not to piss that guy off again.

When we were about 12, some older guy showed us how to make match guns.  I will not go into details, because this dangerous secret should die with my generation.  I haven’t seen one since I was a kid and I will not do anything to change that.  But I will say that you could take one of those wooden matches that would light on anything, and launch it about 20 feet, and have it light as you shot it.  We’d load up one of those ‘safety matches’ into our little gun, and one flick of the thumb and your buddy had a burning match stuck to his shirt.  Man, it was funny to watch each other try to put out various parts of clothing and skin.  But like all fun things, eventually someone is going to get really hurt.  Jerry Cortese was running from someone, and he had his entire stockpile of ‘safety matches’ in his front pants pocket.  He cut the corner around a car a bit too close and bumped into the car, leg first.  And those matches caught on fire.  All of them.  And he couldn’t get his pants off that fast.  He burned the crap out of his leg, and we never saw what happened because like good 12 year olds, we were all running for home.  That ended the match gun wars.  A good thing, in retrospect.  But hey, you’re talking about kids from Bojon Town.  We used to have BB gun fights.  Match guns were just a logical progression.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Truer words were never spoken my dear cousin! I want to say somewhere in my tubes of photos I have a wedding picture of your folks! I also have an 11 x 14 color portrait of cousin Marla Kocman! I remember Mike Deverjch saying his aunt Leila was always dressed to the nines! So were the Kocman twins Marla and Darla always looking lovely! Once in Las Vegas I was buying my youngest son Nick who was 7 at the time and my grandson Colton who was 4 those wooden rubber band shooting guns and another customer started berating me! That was in 2000! Wow! We got the crisp beat out of us by nuns daily and saw our friends catch it to! Never knew anyone to grow up and bomb a school, kill their peers or teachers! Sick society today! When my hubby was brand new working at His job in 1991 he would come home and say stuff like, ” some chick said she went to Seton HS with you she’ s a new attorney”! He worked with several Mexican gals I went to high school with! All attorneys, I think they just had loftier goals and were more driven than I was! We were raised and educated properly! Faith, Family, Education! Bojon Town rocked! Thanks cousin, good night and keep writing! Hugs, Anne xo

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jeanette litherland on June 29, 2015 at 11:14 pm

    I recently discovered one of those wooden guns that shoot rubber bands. I confiscated it from my ex son in law after I got tired of picking up rubber bands that he and his brother were shooting at each other in my house!! I kept quiet like a mouse so the nuns wouldn’t notice me so I never felt their wrath!! I went to Edison for 6th grade. Our mom was not happy with the nuns so Audrey went to Keating Jr. high for 7th grade and I went to Edison. Audrey and I never did go back to Catholic School. Even the nuns would have been afraid of the teacher we had in 6th grade!!

    Reply

  3. My brother Dave was the only one of us Samples that went to Catholic school and his career as a Catholic school student was short lived. He went to St. Francis school and in the 2nd grade he had some problem with a “sadistic” nun (imagine that) and was asked to leave. Thank you brother!! We dodged a bullet there. I have a friend who claims that the arthritis in her fingers was caused by the nuns hitting her across the knuckles with a ruler. She has arthritis in her knees as well and she attributes that to the nuns making her kneel on the concrete floor as punishment. My ex went to Catholic school in Colorado Springs. He claimed that one of the nuns he had could flick you on the ear from behind and make your knees buckle. The nuns in Springs were not as good as the ones in Pueblo. He claimed that in 2nd grade all he learned was to square dance. I was just going back and reading some of the comments that I missed and I am still laughing about the comment from Auntie Millie. “Shut up and go to sleep. It’s not that easy to die”. Love to all my cousins and 2nd cousins.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Mike Deverich on July 1, 2015 at 7:14 am

    Mike your lack of respect for political correctness is showing and the thought police won’t be far behind. My God did we have fun with the balls and broken bats, there would be from 7 to 17 playing baseball and everybody got a chance to swing at pitches they could handle. The older kids always pitched and threw it at an appropriate speed for the hitter. If we only had 7 or 8 on a side right field would be out, it was competition but not cut throat. It’s amazing when you see kids today riding a bike, they look like hockey goalies. They never learn how to play an unorganized sport, they need coaches, umpires and $200 uniforms. Your writing makes me remember how little we needed to have fun and makes me sad for kids growing up today, they will never experience a rock fight or going under the bridge to check out the hobos hell there are no hobos today. They will never get the thrill of riding their bikes down Sante Fe hill with the wind blowing thru their hair or jumping the fence at Newton’s to play hide and seek until way past dark. They never learn to fall down and get back up on their own, that life is to be lived, not everything is fair and they are not the most important person on the planet. We learned at an early age that when adults were present we kept our mouths shut and our ears open, you gave the adults respect not the other way around. I coached my kids baseball, basketball and softball teams and could not believe how many kids called me Mike, not coach or even Mr. Deverich. What would have happened if we called cousin Bill anything but coach or Mr. Kocman? What Anne says is correct we are a sick society. We have no one to blame but ourselves as our generation was the first to demand respect before it was earned and believed the liberal bull sh** that has led us to the current situation. We didn’t want to be our parents but we should have. Unfortunately I don’t think we can recover without some serious pain. Anyone that wants to know what the next 50 years will look like only needs to read Anne Barnhardt or read about the depression of the 30’s. I hate to end this on such depressing thoughts so let me say I loved my childhood in Bojon Town and wish my children could have lived the childhood we did, we had the most wonderful life and I will never forget it.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Sam Cosimano on July 21, 2015 at 9:26 pm

    Hey, Michael, this is your cousin Sam Cosimano in SC. Yours and Mike’s post were spot on. I lived in Bojohn town for the first 10 years of my life and I can remember so many things from my childhood. Some things make me laugh and some things make me cry, but those 10 years that I spent in Bojohn town were the best years of my life. I have even been talking to my wife about selling our house and moving back HOME. Mike and Anne with their blogs have made me so homesick that if I could I would move tomorrow. What you said in your comment made me reflect how politically correct everything in this country is. And that all comes from, like you said, teaching the milleniums that there is no failure, everybody is equal, everybody gets a trophy. Man for heaven’s sake they do not teach the same things that they did when we were in school. Glad to talk to you through Mike’s post. Take care, my cousin, and lots of love…Sam

    Reply

    • This is a special treat! Hi Sam! It seems that a lot of us are getting the urge to move back home. When I moved out of Pueblo, I swore I’d never come back. Now I kick myself on a daily basis for ever leaving! Man, I am glad to hear from you. I’ve got some awesome stories about you that you will be reading here soon!

      Reply

      • Posted by Sam Cosimano on July 24, 2015 at 11:11 am

        It was good to hear from you to Mike, It has been a long time. I have always missed Pueblo and talk about it to my wife. It’s amazing we move back to New York in 67 and I can remember things about my childhood from when I was 3 and 4 years old. Now that you and Anne are blogging about Bojon Town I am remembering so much more. I think It’s great. I am looking forward to reading more. God bless you cousin, Take care… lohko noc

Leave a Reply

