June 23, Turning for the Stretch!

Took a ride through the old neighborhood this evening.  It was too late to stop, but I just had the urge to be in my Dad and Mom’s house for a while.  That house is so comfortable to me.  It fits me like one of my favorite sweatshirts.  It just feels cozy and warm and right.  And right across the street is my Grandma and Grandpa Bear’s house.  I lived in the basement when I was a kid.  I lived upstairs and my kids lived in the basement when I was older.  It feels the same way.  Like I could open the back door, turn left to see if there were cookies in the pantry, turn right to go to the refrigerator, walk over to the little opening with the telephone to see who was in the living room, check to see what’s cooking on the stove, and out the door!  Then I went down to the 800 block of East Mesa.  814, where Steffie and Charlie lived.  In the back door, (see a pattern with Bojon kids and back doors?  Front doors were for company) up the 3 steps into the kitchen and straight to the refrigerator.  Down the cabinet to the cookie jar.  Check to see who is there, and out the door to the next stop.  Probably next door at Uncle Steve and Aunt Francis Hiza’s house.  Cookies and candy.  Guaranteed.  Maybe an odd job and a few bucks.  Always at least a quarter.  They were so generous to me.  My Uncle Steve was always so happy.  Next door to 806 E. Mesa, where my Uncle Tony lived when I was a kid, and where I lived when I first got married.  Right after my sister who lived there when she first got married.  Those houses have seen a lot of family.  I could do this all day.  I did when I was a kid.  One house to the next, gathering nourishment and small bits of money.

 

Speaking of my sister, Julie is almost exactly a  year younger than I am, and exactly 5 years ahead of me in everything.  When we were kids, by the time she learned to walk I was her crash test dummy.   Julie thinks to herself “I wonder what would happen if I opened the gate and left the yard.  I think I’ll open the gate, let Mike out, and see what happens to him”.  Or “I wonder if you could ride a cardboard box down the basement stairs like a bobsled.  Mike!  Come over here and see if you can fit in this box”.  But when we were older, she always had my back!  And she was usually covering for me.  I love you, Julie!

 

I was told that we would be closing on the sale of our house in Cripple Creek next Tuesday.  Keep your fingers crossed that it happens this time.  Pray.  Sacrifice chickens, goats, whatever.  I need this to happen!

 

I have good kids.  Not so much because I thought about being a good father.  The things I did right, I did out of instinct from seeing it done when I grew up.  The things I did wrong, I tried to learn from.  If I ever have a reverse vasectomy and 2 more kids, I’ll probably do a better job.  Some consolation for those two offspring of mine.  But they both came out right.  I have to believe that Velma had tons to do with that, as well as contributions from Grandmas and Grandpas and Aunts and Uncles and the usual suspects.  They spent a lot of years growing up in Bojon Town, and when they didn’t live there, they were there a lot.  There must be something to this place!

 

I’ve been checking out some Slovenian language web sites and I’m going to figure some of that stuff out.  I saw that there are actually a couple of Slovenian language schools in the country.  So, try not to laugh as I attempt to get these into my vocabulary.  Slovenija je krasna –  Slovenia is beautiful.  prosim —please; hvala —thank you.

 

Some more good old Americans of Slovenian descent.  Sunita Williams, whose mother’s maiden name was Zaloker, is a female American Astronaut who has spent over 320 days in outer space on the International Space Station.  She holds the record for most spacewalks by a woman (seven) and most hours on spacewalks (over 50 hours)  She is a Captain in the United States Navy.

 

Téa Obreht, maiden name, Tea Bajraktarevic, is an American novelist of Slovenian descent.  She won the 2011 Orange Prize for Fiction for her first novel.  There are a lot of talented Slovenians.  A lot of them are ladies.  And of the ladies that I’ve looked up so far, of course all of them are gorgeous!

 

I found this article about a Slovenian neighborhood in Cleveland.  Some of it sounds pretty familiar!

http://www.cleveland.com/heritage/index.ssf?/heritage/more/slovenia/sloven1.html

And with that, I wish you all lahko noč.

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. Good morning, I fell asleep waiting up last night seeing if you get this published so here . I am standing in my backyard at 5:30 letting the dog out.he’s not even my dog, Leo belongs to our youngest daughter Hannah. To my ride I’m looking at Kodiak’s the big husky belongs to my neighbor Mark and his sister Nancy . Directly behind him is a dog, a black lab, Who can scare the crap out of me no matter how long I’ve lived here, five years! Directly behind me the fence joins two levers one they speak knowing glacier and have a variety of dogs including a happy little poodle and a Chihuahua. To their right is a black and white Great Dane ! Who can scare the crap out of me no matter how long I’ve lived here, five years! Directly behind me the fence joins two levers one they speak knowing glacier and have a variety of dogs including a happy little poodle and a Chihuahua On my left our new neighbors. It’s a rental house and they’re not the friendliest people in the world and I haven’t seen any dogs. Sometime I wonder if people without pits are really good people? Anyway the birds are chirping ,the woodpecker is in somebodies tree! Hopefully not archery. We have four of those overgrown pine trees, not the pretty ones the ones that drop the ugly Pinchy little pinecone looking things then I have a tree that looks like death warmed over! Someone tied an hopefully not archery. We have four of those overgrown pine trees, not the pretty ones the ones that drop the ugly pinchy little pinecone looking things . I have a tree that looks like death warmed over , someone tied an orange belt around this tree five years ago! Then we bought the house! The branches now touch the power lines , hello Excel Energy! They will have to come out and trim those branches, hopefully it is still a free service.kodiak, is my favorite neighbor he is now talking to me trying to get my attention and I better hand him this treats before someone calls the police. Mark told me he loves treats and so I have given him a treat every day for the past five years give or take a few when the snow was too deep and I couldn’t walk down in the little area where the snow gets too Deep! This neighborhood is nothing at all like both Johntown where we grew up, except for the fact that my oldest and most beautiful daughter Noelle’ lives two doors down. It’s good to have family so close by. The way we grew up there was a relative on every corner that you turned and if they weren’t your relative they were super good friends with your folks and you better mind your manners or else! Mike, as usual thank you for all the wonderful memories. I did see my folks house online, I googled it and I was so shocked and saddened and disappointed. We have no yard in our home. The backyard. Is huge! The front yard is weird but every time we think we are Mike, as usual thank you for all the wonderful memories. I did see my folks house online, I googled it and I was so shocked and saddened and disappointed. We have no yard in our home. The backyard going to landscape , life happened! I would give this whole world to have my dad here with his expertise. He trimmed the trees in our front yard so that they looked like they were manicured by a professional. His lawn was lush and green and my mother always had a sweet garden in the yard! Mrs. Plute would give her chammollie I would give this whole world to have my dad here with his expertise. He trimmed the trees in our front yard so that they looked like they were manicured by a professional. His lawn was lush and green and my mother always had a sweet garden chamomile flower seeds ! When the flowers bloomed she would snap those heads off , seep them in boiling water and we would drink the tea. Although today I use Celestial Seasonings tea, I have not broken that tradition, even when it’s 100° outside! I miss my folks and all those wonderfull bojons! Although today I use Celestial Seasonings tea, I have not broken that tradition, even when it’s 100° outside ! Mike thank you for sharing memories! We had the life, the good life! Have an excellent day! Hugs,Anne xo Love you cousin!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mike Deverich on June 24, 2015 at 6:10 am

    Mike talk to my sister Jaq, she speaks Slovenian as well as Croatian, Italian and a number of other languages. When she went to CU and her post graduate studies she would spend the summer someplace in Europe learning the language. She worked in Norway for 2 years and is can read and write Norwegian. I have no ear for other languages, I have enough trouble with English. She had 1 thing I never did, the ability to sit down and study after school. I guess that’s why she has a Masters, a degree in math with a minor in language and she passed her CPA test the first time. I am proud of her but will never tell her so. I am proud of my other sister Mary Kay and my brother John. They have lived their lives on their terms and have persevered though some difficult times. My life has been immensely enhanced by having them around. I am sure you feel the same way.

    Reply

  3. ATTENTION! ATTENTION! THIS IS MY CORRECTED COMMENT! SEE NOTE BELOW! Good morning, I fell asleep waiting up last night seeing if you get this published so here I am. I am standing in my backyard at 5:30 letting the dog out.He’s not even my dog, Leo belongs to our youngest daughter Hannah. To my right I’m looking at Kodiak. He is the big husky who belongs to my neighbor Mark and his sister Nancy . Directly behind him is a dog, a black lab, He can still scare the crap out of me no matter how long I’ve lived here, five years! Directly behind me the fence joins two neighbors, one they speak no English and have a variety of dogs including a yappy little poodle and a Chihuahua. To their right is a black and white Great Dane ! On my left our new neighbors. It’s a rental house and they’re not the friendliest people in the world and I haven’t seen any dogs. Sometime I wonder if people without pets are really good people? Anyway the birds are chirping ,the woodpecker is in somebodies tree! Hopefully not our trees. We have four of those overgrown pine trees, not the pretty ones , the ones that drop the ugly little pinecones ! We have a terrible looking tree that someone tied an orange belt around the limbs, before we moved in! Then we bought the house! The branches now touch the power lines , hello Excel Energy! They will have to come out and trim those branches, hopefully it is still a free service.Kodiak, is my favorite neighbor, he is now talking to me trying to get my attention and I better hand him this treat before someone calls the police with a noise complaint!. Mark told me he loves treats and so I have given him a treat every day for the past five years give or take a few days when the snow was too deep and I couldn’t walk down in the little area where the snow gets too high! This neighborhood is nothing at all like bojontown where we grew up, except for the fact that my oldest ,beautiful daughter Noelle’ lives two doors down. It’s good to have family so close by. The way we grew up there was a relative on every corner that you turned and if they weren’t your relative they were super good friends with your folks and you better mind your manners or else! Mike, as usual thank you for all the wonderful memories. I did see my folks house online, I googled it and I was so shocked and saddened and disappointed. We have no yard in our home. The backyard is huge! The front yard is weird but every time we think we are going to landscape life happens! I would give this whole world to have my dad here with his expertise. He trimmed the trees in our front yard so that they looked like they were manicured by a professional. His lawn was lush and green and my mother always had a sweet garden in the yard! Mrs. Plute would give her chamomile seeds . When the flowers bloomed she would snap those heads off , seep them in boiling water and we would drink the tea. Although today I use Celestial Seasonings tea, I have not broken that tradition, even when it’s 100° outside! I miss my folks and all those wonderful bojons! Mike, I love your memories, I can see all those houses in my mind and when I get home again I am taking photos, lots of photos! The memories are vivid and I have to say we did have the good life! Love you cousin! Have a good day! Hugs, Anne xo

    P.S. As I was hitting send for my comment the system went nuts and repeated sentences, changed words. So this is my attempt to right their wrong! Hope it comes over making some sense. Hugs xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

