June 12th. A Great Day to Be a Bojon.

A very eventful day.  I was carrying a box from my garage to the basement.  I noticed my two little dogs by the back fence, barking at something.  When I came out, there was only one dog barking.  Our little Bailey was gone.  Literally in the space of 2 minutes.  She’s tiny, and it isn’t possible for her to get out on her own.  And if she did, she noses around and she wouldn’t have gotten 50 feet in that time.  We look everywhere, call the shelters, go to the shelters, and our daughter in law finds a Facebook post with our dog.  It took a while to get her back, but the lady was awesome, and lived on the next corner.  We drove down, and Velma talked to the lady.  She found Bailey in her fenced in yard, and she said that there was no way that dog got in that yard unless someone put her in.  The only thing we can figure is that someone snatched her out of the yard, and when they got her, they realized that she’s old and has health problems, and they just headed up the alley and tossed her out in that yard.  We get people up and down our alley all day long, looking for scrap and stuff, and there’s even been some folks that had yard furniture stolen.  What kind of sorry bastard would steal a dog, and what kind of sorrier bastard would steal a dog and toss her because she wasn’t good enough?  I haven’t ruled out an inside job though.  Bailey is very smart, and now she’s getting the royal treatment!  Maybe she did it just to get better food.  So glad that she’ll be sleeping between our pillows where she belongs tonight.

I got some information from Mike Lamb about the owner of the mini golf place.  I’m going to do a bit more research and I’ll try to fill in some blanks and pass it on.  Thanks Mike!  And my Mom’s cousins!  They’re filling in so many pieces for me.  Anne and Kay!  Thanks for all of the good stuff.  You guys are awesome!

The literacy rate in Slovenia is 99.7%.  Bojons can read!  I remember our class at St. Mary’s as being one of the smartest collections of people I ever knew.  We fed off of each other and pushed each other, and we learned a lot.  It helped that we were kind of scared not to learn, but we already talked about nuns.  The Bojon kids that I knew?  Smart.  Every one of them.

I was thinking about the old lumber yard the other day.  Newton’s Lumber.  My Grandpa Barnett worked there, so I remember going in there a lot to visit him.  I remember the big spinning tubs full of nails of all kinds, the warehouse with the smell of fresh lumber, and the cool guys.  I was a kid, and of course, they all treated my good.  That’s just how guys were then.  I don’t remember all of their names, but I remember Gene Kaiser, who was a super nice man and a good friend of my Grandpa.  And I remember the delivery guy, a little fireplug-type of a guy aptly named Shorty.  He was built like that dwarf in the Lord of the Rings, and I remember him loading and unloading stuff that was bigger than he was on the delivery truck.  That little guy was strong.  And right next to the lumberyard was the Meadow Gold Dairy.  My Grandma Bear used to buy milk and ice cream there, because she could get it wholesale because of their business license.  I can still remember that good,thick chocolate milk!  Man, that was good stuff.  Later after the lumberyard closed, those buildings were bought by a guy named Charlie Jett, and he opened Jett Supply Co.  He subleased some of the space out to Walter’s Brewery for storage of cans.  My Grandpa got a job there, and hired me when I was 14.  I’d load trailers and box cars with thousands of cases of cans.  I was knocking down two dollars an hour, and I’d work about 12 to 15 hours a week.  I was rich!  You could buy a lot of candy and model cars with that kind of money!  And how many 14 year old kids get to drive a forklift?  Thanks Grandpa!

And I’ll see you all tomorrow, live from Beautiful Southern Cripple Creek!

9 responses to this post.

  1. Love hearing these stories! I remember the Meadow Gold Dairy and Newton’s Lumber. Gosh, good memories. Great stuff! Listen, those bojon genes are excellent. All five of our kids are excellent readers. My hubby is partly Irish but he is a wonderful writer. So you know you have to read in order to write! Hee Hee! We were scared not to learn so we did it! What a concept eh? Gosh, you will have a fun filled weekend at Cripple Creek. I remember the Brass Ass, I had a t shirt from the place and there was a life size Ass (Donkey) LOL! He sat at the front door and he was entirely made out of brass. Ah, the good ole days.
    I am glad you got your precious pup back. Who steals another persons pet? Yikes! Then dumps her! They are lucky I did not witness it because the Bruce Lee would come out in me! We have had three rescue dogs. I could write a book about each one of their stories. What kind of horrible moran could harm an innocent furry friend? Argh….makes me soooo mad!
    You know when I was a little kid I thought God made two types of people, Bojons like myself and Mexican people. Not until the second grade did I ever lay my eyes on a person that was black – Warren Elbeck! Years later a friend of mine I worked with here in Denver told me he was her neighbor in Denver at one point! Small world after all! When I was older I worked a few jobs with people from other countries. But I still always felt we were special because of where we grew up.
    Gosh I would love to take a trip to Victor and Cripple Creek. I would love to find Margaret’s house. At one time there was a Lowell Thomas museum up there too. I would love to see where my mother lived as a kid too but unsure if the house would even be standing today,
    We need to post some photos. I would love to have copies of some of the big phamily photos we had when we all piled in Grandma and Grandpa Kocman’s house as kids. I remember Grandma had a dog and she spoke in Slovenian to him. He was a Pomeranian and he was awful to all of us kids! Dennis Skender would follow him when Gradma was not looking and pull his tail. That dog hated all of us youngsters! Also Grandma had a picture of Jesus and one of the Blessed Mother and they were three dimensional. As a kid I always wished I could have those pictures. They looked like they were ascending into heaven. Sigh….another good memory. I look forward to hearing your next story. Keep writing Mike. Be safe tomorrow and safe travels! Take care until next time.
    lahko noč xo Anne

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mike Deverich on June 13, 2015 at 5:10 am

    What were the books we used to read about Vikings, the Saga of Eric the Red? Everybody read and played sports. The number of athletes that lived in the neighborhood was amazing. It went back at least to the ’30’s with the Walters Baseball team. Grandpa Moon was the manager, uncle Haize was the catcher , H.P. and another couple of Pecheks played. Muss Mikatich, Frank Papish, I can’t think of the rest right now but there is a great painting in Cactus Flower by Nathan Solano showing that team. Then in he 50’s and 60’s Joe Mohorcich, Killer Krasovec, the younger Pechek bothers and into the 60’s and 70’s with the Zobeck brothers and Susan, Horse, Wayne Pechek and Judy Kochavor. Our dads played fast pitch softball for St. Mary’s and the mill league and the competition was fierce. Baseball and softball were the most important sports of those eras. We used to cheat to get on the same teams during lunch at St Mary’s. Sorry off on a tangent.

    Reply

    • Every one of those names brings back so many memories. I gotta tell you, I’ve played a lot of sports with a lot of people in this town. When I was bowling, I bowled against the best. I thrashed a guy that is in the PBA Hall of Fame, and I practiced regularly with another HoF member. Out of everyone I’ve seen, Horse was the best athlete that I ever played with. And Judy Kochevar was the best female athlete I ever saw. I still have a bruise where she hit me with a line drive.

      Reply

      • You need to go the cactus flower and snap a picture of that photo in the wall and share it with us! Good memories and Judy was an excellent ball player as well as Shelly Riddick, that girl hit me so hard once that I gave up the game and broke my mom’s heart! Xo

      • Yeah, I will! I’ve been there a few times and I’ve never noticed it. Shelly Riddock was really a good athlete too! Funny how we forget. I kind of had a crush on her when I was in about the 4th grade, but 4th graders don’t have a shot with those pretty 8th grade girls! Judy hit me in the stomach with a line drive when I was pitching. That was the first time I ever got the wind knocked out of me. I thought I was dying. She was so cool, she came over and did just what you should do. Grabbed me by the belt and bounced me up and down a few times until I started gasping. Oh, she did that after she made it to first base. Bojons had priorities. Safe first, and then check on the dead kid.

  3. I remember sitting on the hill above Runyon Field watching baseball games and listening to a transistor radio. I don’t know whether it was across the street from Uncle Haize’s house or across from Medved’s house on the hill. Anybody got a better memory then me can fill in the blanks?? I love baseball and I know it is genetic on both sides of my family!! Oh, I just had a flashback about Uncle Haize’s basement. He invented the concept of a “man cave.” He have an awesome minature railroad set up and a HAM radio so he could listen to people all over the world. Amazing!!!

    Reply

    • My mom told me that Grandma Kocman was a big baseball fan and she used to go and watch the Pueblo Dodgers a lot. When I think of her sitting in the bleachers at Runyon Field, I just get a big smile on my face. I imagine that she sat down the first base line, about even with first base, in that section that they have the sign that says ‘Bojon Corner’. Even Runyon Field recognizes the word ‘Bojon’, although the Chieftain thinks it’s an insult.

      Reply

  4. Thanks for another great memory Mike! Jessica, the daughter of Juliane Cosimano said her little girl was crying for a baseball and bat. I think baseball is running thru our veins! I said, girl buy her that baseball gear gosh darn it! It is in her bojon veins. I love Runyon Field…..I remember the Spelich’s who were the caretakers years ago….

    Reply

    • Yeah! I remember those folks. They were so nice to the kids. They actually got the concept that baseball was a game and kids liked games. I remember going to the concession stand with a quarter and getting a pop and a hotdog and chips.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

