Day 5

Bojons have awesome senses of humor.  I can’t tell you at how many times I laughed at a story that I heard in the gas station, pool hall, street corner, and just about any other place in the neighborhood.  There were Bojons that could have made it in stand up comedy.  Teedles Mramor was one of the funniest men I’ve ever met.  He had a view on the world that was a few degrees off from everyone else in the world.  He came up with some stuff that just was priceless.  He had some one-liners that would make you think for a few seconds before it hit you, and then you couldn’t stop laughing.  Every Pechek was hilarious, but Inky and Hank were the kings.  Inky was such a lovable screwball that you couldn’t help liking him.  And Hank missed his calling.  He should have been a clown.  He had so many sight gags and funny sayings that it was like a trip to the circus just talking to him.

One time when I was about 12 or so, all of my Grandma Bear’s sisters were in her kitchen telling stories.  Grandma, Auntie Mima, Auntie Steffie, Auntie Anna, Auntie Millie, and Auntie Celie.  The stories were incredible, and they had a way of telling them that had me rolling on the floor.  Auntie Mima had that huge laugh, and Auntie Millie would get her going and before it was over, they were all laughing so hard that they had tears in their eyes.  It was so much fun just to be there.

I have a good memory, but this may stretch it a bit, so I might need help from someone to fill in some details on this story.  A nice young Bojon lady and her friend had great senses of humor.  They invented identities and they’d use these fake identities at times.  If I’m not mistaken, one of the names was something like Hansa Snardarcich.  If the stories are correct, there are still some men in Pueblo wondering what ever happened to those 2 cute, exotic Eastern European beauties.  Perhaps someone remembers this story and can fill us in.

France Preseren is considered the greatest Slovenian poet.  A poem that he wrote became the Slovenian National Anthem.  I’m taking a shot at this, but I’ll bet that the Preseren Home may be named for him.  I’m not sure about that, but this is the first time I’ve seen that name before, other than on the Home.

When I was a kid, I had a set of grandparents living across the street.  The other grandparents lived about three blocks away.  I had at least 6 Great Aunts and Great Uncles living within 6 blocks.  Where else but in Bojon Town can you find such a great place to be a kid?

I don’t drink beer, but if I had the chance, I’d love to sit down and have one with a table of my favorite guys from Bojon Town.  They were older than me, and they still treat me like they like me!  So, here’s my list, and I can guarantee it will grow as I think more about it.  Some of them aren’t here, so it saddens me that I missed the chance, but maybe in another place.  So, here’s the lineup.  Muggsy Roitz.  My 3 Medved Uncles, Ray, Danny and Kenny.  Squanto.  Billy Yershin.  Nickie Mikatich.  Ronnie Oreskovich.  Harvey Koshak.  Just one thing about Harvey.  We played a lot of basketball when I was young.  I got tall.  Fast.  So I got to play with the men from the time I was about 13.  We’d play pickup games in the gym at the old Central Grade School.  Whenever I played against Harvey, he would make it a point to guard me.  I’m a foot taller than him, my arms are at least 18 inches longer, and every time I went up for a jump shot, he mugged me and made me eat a big face full of leather basketball.  It used to piss me off so bad, that his little guy can manage to face me every time I took a shot.  Later on, I found out that he played for SCSC when they won a National Championship.  I didn’t feel so bad after that, but man, Harvey could hoop it up!  He was like the Bojon version of Spud Webb.

That’s it for now.  See you tomorrow.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mitzie on June 6, 2015 at 8:08 am

    Listen up Mike…I make a motion you continue this daily blog long after the month of June………..all in favor ……….it’s official you gotta do it..even if it’s only one paragraph!!

    Reply

  2. I second that motion! Get busy Mike, you are a great story teller and you learned from the very best! Tell us more stories.I love hearing them and remembering those faces. I could tell you lots of tales about Teedles. That guy could tell a story, spin a yarn! Considering he lost his brother Felix after the war and the two of them together suffered such sadness and pain and suffering during WWII times. He never lost his graceful style of telling you a story. Plus he took care of his sister Elsie and was an all around great guy. Whenever I am in Pueblo and look into the Mramor yard I am filled with so many beautiful memories. Have a great weekend cousin and tell it like it is! Love ya!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kay on June 6, 2015 at 1:17 pm

    In that group, Auntie Anna was the queen of story tellers closely followed by Auntie Gela and Auntie Millie. My mom and Auntie Mima were good but in that group of great storytellers they were just good not great. Humph!! With a shrug of the shoulders was a classic response from Auntie Mima. Also, she would laugh with her whole body. I have laughed until I cried so many times in the company of those great ladies. They would tell a story that I had heard so many times before but I would still laugh just as hard. In my generation, my sister Barb is the best in my family but she has some of the best material. Amazing things just seem to happen to her. Keep writing!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

