June 4th. Day 4 of Bojon Month

The best hamburgers and fries in the history of the universe were from Anzick’s Restaurant.  I wish I had one right now.  The best place to hang out in the history of the universe is a tie.  The Pool Hall and Medved’s 66 Station.  Places where a young Bojon boy could pick up a very comprehensive education.

 

Speaking of being educated, as a young boy in Bojon Town, you could learn a lot by keeping your mouth shut and listening.  There was always a lesson being taught if you were smart enough to recognize it.  One of the things I learned early in my life is a very simple lesson.  Be ready and don’t make people wait.  I see it in action every day.  You’re standing in line at the grocery store.  The person in front of you spends 5 minutes looking through their purse for a coupon, and when they finally find it, they spend another 3 minutes looking for a quarter.  Be ready.  Don’t make people wait.  If you’re in line and you need a checkbook, a driver’s license and a pen, when you get to the front of the line, have your checkbook, driver’s license and your pen in your hand.   Don’t make me wait.

 

Bojons love to work.  That’s why I get so pissed off at that bojon.com site with the jobless clowns bragging about being unemployed.   Velma and I are working every day on something.  The yard, the house, always something.  Today we took a day off.  We ended up at our friends’ house, and ended up helping them turn under a 40′ by 35′ garden.  Bojons.  Have shovel, will travel.

 

Did I mention that Bojons are a mighty fine looking bunch of people?

 

France Rode, from  Nožice, Slovenia is an engineer and inventor best known for his work on the HP-35 pocket calculator.  He was one of the four lead engineers at Hewlett-Packard assigned to this project, Rode also invented and created the first workable RFID products: workplace entry cards, for which he holds several patents.  When I went to the School of Mines in 1974, I bought an HP-45 pocket calculator with the money I got from my high school graduation.  It was the first upgrade of the HP-35.  I bought it from a guy that worked for HP, and I got a 40% employee discount on it.  It still cost me over $450.  I gave it to my sister Janet, and if I’m not mistaken, she still has it and it still works.  Bojons can build some stuff!

 

I love Bojon Town.  When I’m there, it feels right.  Something about the magnetic fields or the gravity or something.  Perhaps it’s the residual love that’s left over from all of the people that nurtured me and took care of me when I was growing up.  Hi Grandma Bear!  Grandpa Bear!  Grandpa Charlie and Grandma Steffie.  All the Aunts, Uncles, Great Aunts, Great Uncles, Cousins, and good friends.  And most of all, Hi Mom!  It’s still Bojon Town!

 

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. These posts are making me teary eyed and all these wonderful memories come flooding back into my mind. wouldn’t it be wonderful to have an Anzick’s hamburger? Sigh! Your information on sLOVEnians/bojons makes me smile. A great genetic pool! Or perhaps, God really does love us best! I am not sure if you are a fan of opera but there is an Opera Singer who is a bojon. Actually there were others too. Do you remember the KSKJ Lodge newspaper that we use to get in the mail? I miss that, it was filled with the best information and I was always feeling so proud to have been born into this wonderful culture. There was a gal who lived in Arizona who was a bojon and wrote a column and always made me laugh. So many god times, I loved my childhood and I wish we could all get together before too much time passes. I would talk with your mom about that and I really miss that I never had that final face to face conversation with her. She was a wealth if bojon info just like her own mom. God Bless You cousin.. Keep writing. xo

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kay on June 5, 2015 at 9:36 am

    bojon
    A Bojon is, which is that during the great European immigration of the late 19th and early 20th centuries, the French would see Slovenians passing through on their way to America and say, “Look at those good-looking Slavic dudes.” In French, that would be beaux gens, which, in America, via Ellis Island, turned into Bojons.
    Quelle Beaux gens (bojon).

    I googled Bojon just for the heck of it and I found the above definition! Others, have noticed how good looking us Bojons are.

    Anzick’s Pool Hall holds many fond memories for me, On Sundays, we would almost always visit Grandma and Grandpa Kocman. Someone would give us candy money and we would head down the alley to Anzick’s. The pool hall was so much more then a pool hall!! There was a big chalk board on the back wall with all the Major League Baseball teams playing that day written on the board. There was a ticker tape machine that would send updates for each game. There wasn’t any TV or radio that carried all the games, so you either waited for the newspaper the next day or you went to Anzick’s to see how your team was doing. Baseball plays such a huge part of Bojon heritage. Anzick’s hosted back room card games as well. I don’t have direct knowledge of these games but I don’t think anyone would dispute there existence. But, on more then one occasion there was a craps game in the alley going on. Candy or ice cream were the plan but getting an education on the finer points of life was what we got. Keep writing!!

    Reply

    • Look back on an article I wrote about the pool hall. You hit it right on the nose. Ticker tape machines, baseball scores, and guys hanging around playing cards. I got more than one spanking for hanging around there.

      Reply

      • Posted by Kay on June 6, 2015 at 1:33 pm

        I did go back and read your blog about the pool hall. Thanks for giving the entire history of the place. We are so lucky to be born into such a great heritage!

Leave a Reply

