Bojon Awareness Month, Day 2

The 2nd day of Bojon Awareness Month, and I bring you more things Bojon.

In Slovenia, there is a winery or a vineyard for every 70 people.  Bojons don’t whine, but they do like to drink a bit of wine. There is a grapevine in Maribor that is over 400 years old!  There are more than 10,000 caves in Slovenia.  The first married couple to climb Mt. Everest is from Slovenia.  And most importantly, Slovenians are an incredibly good looking bunch of people.  All of them!  Not a mutt in the bunch.

There is a website called http://www.bojon.com.  Please don’t bother with it.  It has nothing to do with Bojons.  It’s based around the fact that bojon is no job spelled backwards.  So, they equate being ‘bojon’ with having no job.  If anyone knows anything about Bojons, it’s that they work their asses off at their jobs, and almost all of them have at least one.  I don’t work any more, but not by choice.  I had 2 jobs when I was 14, and I worked my butt off all of my life.  Bojons and no jobs do not go together.

My lovely wife and I were taking a ride today, and something I saw gave me an idea.  It’s kind of tied in with the Eilers Heights/Bojon Town dilemma.  We were riding through Salt Creek.  If you’ve never been there, it’s really a cool place, and I wish I got to play there a bit more when I was young.  We’d go down there for the occasional rock fight or BB gun fight, but for the most part, we weren’t welcome there.  As we were driving, we went past the old Fulton Heights Recreation Center, and it struck me that this neighborhood once went through an identity crisis.  It appears that at one time, the name Salt Creek wasn’t portraying the image that a few residents wanted outsiders to see.  So, they tried renaming it Fulton Heights.  And it didn’t work.  The people that lived there called it Salt Creek, and the people that didn’t called it Salt Creek.  It stayed Salt Creek, and now they even have a big marker that proudly displays the name of Salt Creek.  The people spoke, and they even got a nice, big sign.  Not some lameass bulletin board with a few ugly fake flowers sticking out of the top.  Stay tuned as I start a campaign to get the city to put up a sign in Benedict Park that reads “Welcome to Bojon Town.  Home of the most incredibly good looking people in Pueblo”.

See you tomorrow, on Day 3 of Bojon Awareness Month!

One response to this post.

  1. I am scratching my head, where did my comments go!?? Gosh maybe the Pueblo newspaper is monitoring us! We must be the outlaw bojons not living on the single block which that news interviewed! Hmmmm…..
    I never understand people trying to jazz up a name like Salt Creek. It is and always will be Salt Creek! I think the name says a lot. People just trying to make it through this life day by day. I am always happy when I read these posts. I need to write more. I wanted to tell you, you should look at my blog and my post about my mom’s cousin Margaret Tekvee “The Judge”! I wrote it April 19, 2014 and it is called Victor, Colorado and it is labeled under phamily memories. My mom had lots of good memories living in Victor.
    It is always my pleasure to stop by here and catch up with you.
    Take care and keep writing these stories.
    FYI: my friend Edna, in her 70’s living in Boston makes a blog book every year. She is collecting her info so her kids and grand kids will have a history of knowing her through her blog.
    Keep writing Mike!
    xo Anne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

