Official Announcement

I have an announcement.  June is going to be Bojon Awareness Month.  Why, you say?  Because it’s my blog and I want to have Bojon Awareness Month.  People need to be made aware of what it means to be a Bojon.  In honor of my newly created month, I will write a blog post every day in June about something Bojon.  So, here we go.

 

The Chieftain had an article today about some residents of the imaginary neighborhood of Eilers Heights.  It seems that the people were confused about how their land could be called a condemned toxic waste dump by a branch of the government, while another branch of government tells them that their property is now worth more, so they’ll have to pay more taxes.  Isn’t that interesting?  Your land is poisoned, so you need to pay us more because of the increased value.  I believe I told you that if someone from government shows up on your land and tells you that they’re there to help, the first thought you should have is where to bury his body.

 

So, the residents get up a petition for the Assessor’s Office.  And the Assessor calls their bluff.  He says that each house on the petition will have to be inspected for additions and improvements and make sure that permits were obtained and building codes followed.  Now, if you know Bojon Town, there are some garages and spare bedrooms that just kind of showed up one summer.  And Bojons do good work, but not always up to code, and not always with a permit.  So, the people take their petition back and say “Never mind”.  Bojons are pragmatic.  They’ll pick a better fight.  Well played by the Assessor, though.  He was holding aces, and he went all in.  The Bojons had a pair of 5’s.    No sense in playing that hand any further.

 

I love my wife.  I could give you a 1000 times 1000 reasons (that’s a million for my sister Janet, who seems to be really trying to get this math stuff down), but I have 29 more posts to type this month.  Add that to my Facebook rants, and I’ll be screaming “I’ve got blisters on my fingers” like Ringo after the 18th take of Helter Skelter.  Most of my Facebook rants are on a page where people reminisce about Pueblo.  About once a month, someone starts a thread about something to do with BoJohns.  And the experts weigh in about BoJohns.  And I inevitably go haywire and piss a few dozen people off.  But hey, if you can’t spell something, it’s highly unlikely that you’re an expert on that subject.

In June of 1899, Nikola Tesla started high voltage, high frequency electrical experiments on Pike’s Peak.  It was said that when his generator was turned on and creating sparks of electricity, the popping could be heard 15 miles away on the back side of the peak in Cripple Creek.  Now that’s a smart Bojon!  If anyone has ever seen a demonstration of a Tesla coil, you’d have nothing but admiration for a man crazy enough to play with that much electricity.

 

I’ll try to include special days this month.  The first one I can come up with is June 3rd.  My sister Julie’s Birthday!  My life changed when she showed up.  I learned some of my best stuff from her.  She was always a year younger than me, and a step ahead of me.  Happy Birthday, Julie!  See you all tomorrow.

 

9 responses to this post.

  1. I am all for Bojon Month!! But, I live in the middle of Illinois and I am the only Bojon in Springfield. If I drive for 2.5 hours I will be in Joliet and there are plenty of Bojons there but I don’t even think they know it. I guess I will have to drive to Pueblo if I really want to celebrate. My mother, Stephanie Kocman Samples was also born on June 3. So, that makes two great reasons to saw Happy Birthday!!! I taught chemistry at Springfield High School for 20 years. Some of my best demonstrations involved using a Tesla coil. I used it to explode alcohol fumes in a plastic bottle with a rubber stopper. The stopper blew off the bottle with a big bang and usually hit the ceiling. I would do one bottle first and then I would go for the “triple whammy,” which was 3 bottles in series. One spark from the Tesla coil would blow all 3 at once. I miss the fun and the kids but not all the crap that went with teaching. Retirement is wonderful. I am looking forward to a daily post.

    Reply

    • Wasn’t your mom born on the night of the big flood? I remember my Grandma Bear talking about going to Joliet for a KSKJ convention. I’d love to get back there sometime to see what it’s like. I know my Grandma loved it!

      Reply

      • Yes. My mother was born on June 3, 1921. The day of the big flood in Pueblo. My mom died on August 3, 1993 and there was a big flood all up and down the Mississippi River. When I was flying out of St. Louis to Pueblo for her funeral we had a great view of the flood. FYI. I was going through a bunch of odds and ends and I ran across a copy of the newspaper article from my wedding in 1968. You and Michael Deverich were the altar boys. I vaguely remember something about the two of you sneaking a few beers and maybe ending up laying on the lawn in front of Holy Family Church??? The KSKJ is still head quartered in Joliet and I also remember Grandma Kocman and Auntie Gela going for conventions. I don’t know why the Pueblo newspaper is so uptight about calling Bojon Town—Bojon Town. I hate political correctness, it often boarders on the ridiculous! Here in Springfield IL there are not many ethnic neighborhoods like in Pueblo but there is one neighborhood called the “Cabbage Patch”. Everyone knows where that neighborhood is and even the local newspaper has used the term to describe the area. There were mainly Germans in that neighborhood hence the name “Cabbage Patch”. My long time boyfriend is from the “Patch” and he is very proud of it. Like Bojon Town it was a working class neighborhood where immigrants and their children lived and prospered. I agree with you that Bojons are very hardworking and also good looking.

      • I remember your wedding. Well, some of it anyway. I’m sure that the beer and lawn story are pretty close. There was always a nice person at Bojon weddings that would sneak a thirsty kid a half of a cup of beer. The problem was that there were about 20 of those nice people there. I got more beer from my Great Aunties than from anyone. I remember drinking a lot of beers with Dennis Skender at a wedding, and Auntie Anna took me and Dennis home for the night. The first thing she did when we got in the house was make us a mixed drink with cherry vodka. Different times! Usually if there was a kid acting up at a wedding, it was me, Dennis, or Mike Deverich. Probably all 3 of us.

  2. Posted by Kathy Medved on June 2, 2015 at 8:58 am

    I may be a Bojon by marriage but I always loved the stories and my Bojon family.

    Reply

    • I always just think of you as a Bojon, not just by marriage. You’re extremely nice, you fit the part about Bojons being incredibly good looking people. And I love you very much! Is it ok if I just think of you as a Bojon 😉 One thing I didn’t know in doing some reading for these posts is that there is a very large group of Italian people living in Slovenia. That area of Europe has undergone so many border changes over the years that it has to be confusing, but I think it officially makes you a Bojon!

      Reply

  3. This is going to be a great series Mike! Always proud of my heritage and my grandpa Joe Kocman told me when they came over to Ellis Island they did not always have all their proper IDs. and so the people at Ellis Island called the men “Bowjons” because they wore bow ties and so many were named John. I know some sLOVEnian people who think “Bojon” is a disrespectful term. I will always trust my grandfather, He was a wise man and I spent a lot of time with him as a kid. I don’t think he would ever tell a tale to me. I know I have shared this with you before, but just had to repeat it. Good to be here and thank you for sharing all this insight.

    Reply

  4. Goodness it is so sweet to see so many relatives here. I wish we could all get together and visit for a long weekend. I wonder if the Prerseren Home is still available for reunions? I am not sure I spelled it correctly but it was so much fun up there in Rye, Ah…such great memories. I tried to read that article about Janet but the darn newspaper charges a fee on line! Drat! So when I see my sister this weekend I hope she will be able to share it with me so I can copy it. I was never a math kid although I can count change and do all the simple math calculations, My middle brother Ed was the Math kid! Sigh! Happy birthday to Julie. She and I have children very close in age. Her son Charles and my daughter Noelle were born about one month apart. Always good to stop by and say hello and listen to your stories Mike. Thanks cuz!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

