The Death of Bojon Town

I have to come here to make one last post.  In the last week, I found out that Bojon Town was a figment of my imagination.  The foundations behind this hallucination have crumbled, and I now see that family and values that I thought I believed in were just a huge lie.   Bojon Town never really existed, and I apologize for getting you involved in my dream world.

 

Edit:  I was an idiot when I wrote this.  I’m embarrassed to have written it and I would love to remove it permanently.  But I’m not.  I’m going to leave it up as a reminder to me that I should think very long and hard before I react to things.  I’m sorry.  Bojon Town lives!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Carol Kennedy on October 15, 2013 at 10:36 am

    Does this mean that you will longer post “BoJon” town? If so, I am very disappointed as I had come to look forward to your wit, humor, and nostalgia regarding our childhood memories. Thank you for all the past posts, but if you fiind a way to continue you will make a lot of us BoJons elated! Thanks for the job well done!

    Reply

    • Unless something drastic happens, this will probably be the last one. Wit, humor and nostalgia kind of pale in the face of disappointment and disillusion. I got a cold slap in the face of reality, and unfortunately reality trumps memories when the reality just doesn’t match up with the memories. I’m really glad you got to read it before it went bad. Who knows. Maybe I’ll come to grips with all of this in 30 years or so and I’ll start back up. Thanks for the nice comments!

      Reply

  2. You can’t quit. I don’t know what happened in your life but your insights into Bojon town were dead on. I grew up there on Eilers right next to Newton lumber. I have been in “cheech’s” pool hall. I know John Zobeck and Squanto Miklich. Reading your blog filled me with memories (good and bad). A few weeks ago I sat next to a relative of yours in church who still lives on Berwind. I told Judy Kochevar about your blog and she reads it. She lives on Berwind too. Your written memories do a lot for many people.

    Reply

    • I’m in a tough spot right now, but that may change. I had outlines for dozens of stories, so who knows. Given the fact that you lived on the end of Eilers, and your initials are KJR, I’m going to take a shot in the memory banks. Corner house. Last name Riddock. First name, if I remember, could be either Kirk or Ken? How am I doing? Given that the other house next to the lumber yard was Ricky Zaitz’s family, I think I’m close.

      Reply

      • Posted by KJR on November 25, 2013 at 2:48 pm

        You can reach me personally and privately at….. Ranch3d@earthlink.com. I have a blog which I am retooling that I’ll tell everyone about when I get it updated. Stay with your memories. You do a good job.

  3. Posted by KJR on November 25, 2013 at 2:49 pm

    My email is ranch3d@eartlink.net Not.com

    Reply

  4. Posted by Vic Mishmash on December 20, 2013 at 2:30 pm

    Mike – Enjoyed your Bojon Town story.
    I was your Uncle Kenny’s first friend.
    Vic Mishmash formerly of 908 Egan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

